Sunday Services:
9:00-10:30 AM
Howe Chapel  |  439 Coffman St  |  Longmont, CO


The Liturgical Calendar Year begins with the Season of Advent (the four Sundays before Christmas), followed by Christmas and the one or two Sundays before the Sunday of Epiphany, which falls on January 6.  We then proceed through the Season of the Epiphany until the Season of Lent begins with Ash Wednesday.  The Season of Lent takes us to the Sunday of the Resurrection or Easter.  The Season of Easter, or Eastertide, continues until Pentecost Sunday and the balance of the Liturgical year consists of the Sundays after Pentecost, or Ordinary Time, leading to the next Liturgical Calendar Year and the Season of Advent. Check out the video below!

VIDEO: The Story ... As Told Through the Christian Calendar from Christ Church Anglican on Vimeo

Living in the Power of the Spirit: The Liturgical Season of Pentecost (Ordinary Time)

This year, Pentecost falls on June 4.

Pentecost is the great festival that marks the birth of the Christian church by the power of the Holy Spirit. Pentecost means “fiftieth day” and is celebrated fifty days after Easter. It marks the prophesied outpouring (Joel 2:28-29) of the Holy Spirit on Jesus’ disciples, mother and family with the sound of rushing wind and tongues of fire as they were gathered together praying 10 days after Jesus’ ascension into heaven. The disciples were suddenly empowered to proclaim the gospel of the risen Christ. They went out into the streets of Jerusalem and began preaching to the crowds gathered for the festival. Not only did the disciples preach with boldness and vigor, but by a miracle of the Holy Spirit they spoke in the native languages of the people present, many who had come from all corners of the Roman Empire. This created a sensation. The apostle Peter seized the moment and addressed the crowd, preaching to them about Jesus’ death and resurrection for the forgiveness of sins. The result was that about three thousand converts were baptized that day. See Acts 2:1-41.

The liturgical color of Pentecost Sunday is red. The liturgical color of the following Ordinary Time is green. 

Red recalls the tongues of flame in which the Holy Spirit descended on the first Pentecost. The color also reminds us of the blood of the martyrs. 

Green is the color of life and growth. Through the gift of faith that comes only from the Holy Spirit working through the means of grace, Christians trust in Christ as Savior and proclaim Him in their daily lives by service to their neighbors as they grow in faith.

The Pentecost Season (Ordinary Time) is the longest of the church year.

It begins the Monday after Pentecost. The first Sunday after Pentecost is known as Trinity Sunday (this year on June 11), when we celebrate the three persons of the Trinity – Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Ordinary Time continues until the Saturday before the first Sunday of Advent (December 3), the beginning of the new liturgical year. The season is centered on sanctification, the work of the Holy Spirit in the day to day life of the Christian. This is the non-festival portion of the liturgical calendar during which the church stresses vocation, evangelism, missions, stewardship, almsgiving, and other works of mercy and charity as ways in which Christ empowers us by His grace to share the Gospel with others. The name “Ordinary Time” translates from the Latin term Tempus per annum (literally “time through the year”)

Important Dates in this Liturgical Season:

June 2017

4          Pentecost Sunday, 9 a.m. service at Howe. 

11        Trinity Sunday, 9 a.m. service at Howe.

June-November 2017

Regular services convene at 9 a.m. Sunday at Howe, 439 Coffman Street in Longmont, throughout the Season of Pentecost.

November 2017

26        Last Sunday in Pentecost, 9 a.m. service at Howe.



“And it shall come to pass afterward,
    that I will pour out my Spirit on all flesh;
your sons and your daughters shall prophesy,
    your old men shall dream dreams,
    and your young men shall see visions." Joel 2:28 (ESV)